Evidence of His Presence

486554_457992224272013_1015118963_n

My daughter Annie and I took Mom and Dad shopping one day.  As usual, Dad had Mom sit in the front seat, because it’s a little easier to get in and out of than the back. The only problem with this arrangement is that Mom can’t see Dad. She asked if he was in the car.  I tried to adjust the mirror on her visor so she could see him sitting behind her, but it didn’t work for her So, I told Mom, “Dad is sitting right behind you.”

“Oh, okay,” she said. A minute later she asked, “Raymon, are you here?”

He patted her on the shoulder and said, “Yes, honey, I’m right here.”

The reassurance Dad’s voice and touch gave her was tangible.  She visibly relaxed and sighed, “Okay.” The car was chilly, so I tucked a blanket around her, and she soon dozed off in peace as we drove.

Sometimes, even though I know God is with me, I long for a more tangible evidence of His presence. At times like those, when He moves someone to care, to say “I’m here with you”, to give a hug, or a word of encouragement, or meet a need—that is His body at work.  That is His comfort. That is being wrapped in His love and peace. I want to be sensitive to His leading and promptings, so I can be a part of His comfort to others. And together we will know that God is right here.

Leave a Reply

